5 Ways To Have A Healthy Start To Your Day

I’ve never been one to sleep in, even on a weekend. In fact for most of my 20’s I got up before the sun. Mornings are my favorite time of the day and I HATE to waste them. There is something special about the quiet peacefullness of the morning, before others wake up to start the day. Starting my day off right is important to me.  When I start my day off on the right foot, I am more likely to continue to have a day that contributes positivley to my health and happiness. If you feel as if your mornings are rushed and chaotic read on to find out how  you can kickstart your day in a healthy way!

1. Wake up earlier

Setting up a morning routine that incorporates healthy habits can benefit you in many ways. In order to have some “me time”, I wake up earlier than I would if I just had to run out the door to work. I get up  an hour and 15 minutes before I need to leave which is 6:00am. These are the small ways I incorporate health during that time.

  • using a light simulator alarm clock to support morning cortisol levels
  • skin brushing to stimulate lymphatic system
  • oil pulling for detoxifaication
  • hydrotherapy shower to boost immune system
  • applying essential oils for focus

2. Drink water/herbal tea/ bone broth rather than coffee

I gave up coffee two years ago and would never go back. When I drank coffee I always felt jittery, irritable, and out of balance. My energy was all over the place with highs and lows. It was a drug I was addicted to. Yes, I went through terrible withdraws but after two days I had tons of energy that didn’t stop! Now after drinking a big glass of water in the morning, I stick with tea or bone broth for the retainer of the morning. These options provide the body with lots of vitamins and minerals that will help your skin glow!

3. Eat A healthy breakfast

Whenever I meet someone who doesn’t eat breakfast, I am astonished.  Your brain needs energy to concentrate during the day!  Eating a meal that contains a good amount of protein will keep you more satisfied throughout the day so that you are less likely to reach for something unhealthy. Here are some breakfast ideas my hubby and I use through the week.

  • Pastured egg omelet with added veggies
  • Paleo pancakes or waffles
  • Veggie fruit smoothy with added collagen for protein
  • Veggie and meat stir Fry

14406031184_ac3675bb19_z

source

4. Pray

Starting my morning of with prayer and devotion is crucial for me. I find that if I don’t do it first thing in the morning, I end up skipping it all together. I love using the website  shereadstruth.com for daily devotions.

5. Go outside/ work out

While I prefer to work out in the morning, I value my sleep more, and sometimes save it for the afternoon.  Regardless, I always try to get outside to work out. Being outside in nature can help restore and heal your body. Being in outside can promote relaxation and can actually reduce inflammation in your body. If I choose to workout in the afternoon, I always spend a few minutes outside breathing in the fresh air!

How do you start your day in a healthy way?

 

Happy Healing!

 

Leave a Reply

