The Healing Benefits Of Kuzu Root

My acupuncturist mentioned Kuzu root to me when I was in the middle of a flare. I had never heard of this root before, but wanted to give it a try in order to restore my gut.

Why use kuzu root?

There are amazing health benefits that go along with consuming this starch. Kuzu root is a source that has been used by healers to repair the digestive track in any way that it needs. For example, it can help with constipation as well as diarrhea. In Mathew Lovitt’s article, The Healing Benefits of Kuzu, he mentions the other proven benefits such as,

“to reduce high blood pressure, regulate blood sugar, relieve chronic migraines and ease muscular tension. A few studies have even found that the consumption of flavonoids reduce the risk of cancer, cardiovascular and neurodegenerative diseases.”

After several days of using this root, I saw a big difference in my digestive track and how I was digesting foods. I continue to use it as a daily supplement of healing for my gut.

How do you consume kuzu?

 Kuzu root is a starch that can be used as a thickener. It can be used in soups, sauces, gravies and puddings. There are many recipes that you can find online that use this healing root. I personally add it to my tea or bone broth at night with the recipe below.

Kuzu Root Tea

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

1tsp Kuzu Root Starch

1 cup hot liquid (water for tea or bone broth)
3 TBSP cool water

Directions:
Mix the kudzu root and cool water until it is completely dissolved.
Add hot liquid and mix.
Drink and enjoy!


Happy Healing!

Sources:

http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-5648/The-Healing-Benefits-of-Kuzu-Root.html

2 thoughts on “The Healing Benefits Of Kuzu Root

Leave a Reply

