Stage 2 SCD Reflections

Things are in full swing over here as I continue into stage 2 of the diet. I am loving all of the new foods that I can eat! Here is the list of everything I have added back in so far.

Vegetables:

Asparagus

Mushrooms

Pumpkin

Butternut Squash

Acorn Squash

Cucumber

Garlic

Carrots

Zucchini

Spinach

Fruit:

Peach

Applesauce

Pear sauce

Avocado

Other:

Almond Milk

Hemp Milk

Almond Butter

Walnut Butter

Coconut oil

Olive Oil

Walnut oil

Garlic

Pepper

Herbal Teas

I continue to peal, cook and puree my veggies. I am adding back a food every three days to see how my body reacts to it. I make sure to make notes in my food journal to pin point any reactions.  Best of all, I am finally feeling like I have some variety in my diet! The only thing my body has reacted to during this phase is wine, which was not suppose to be added back on the diet yet. I had organic sulfate free wine without an issue. However, I thought that I felt good enough that I could add back regular wine without a problem. I was very wrong! The day after consuming 2 glasses at a wedding, I had immediate blood return. It took me several weeks to get my symptoms back under control. I won’t be making that mistake again ;).

Progress

I have finally stopped bleeding for long periods of time- Woo whoo! When I did have a slight flare up after the wine, I was able to get things back under control fairly quickly. I have no gas or bloating and my stomach looks less puffy on a daily basis. I have massive energy and have broken several running personal records.. This is a BIG improvement from the beginning of the year when I barley had enough energy to get out of bed in the morning. Finally, the constipation has subsided and I have regular bowel movements!

Negatives:

Though I believe the positives outweigh the negatives I occasionally have some not so pleasant issues arise. One issue being that I am not able to eat outside the house. I have had lots of weddings and bachelorette parties recently, which as we know typically involve food. Since I have to prepare 100% of my meals at home, I get kind of awkward when everyone is sitting down to eat. Most of my close friends and family know that I have food allergies and understand my situation. However, I still get people asking me why I’m not eating, or very surprised waiters when I don’t order anything at a restaurant. While this can get irritating, I know that through this diet and healing the gut I will eventually be able to tolerate eating outside the home occasionally. I will be celebrating on the day I can have someone else cook for me ;). The only other issue I have had is eating too much nut butter. While I can handle these butters in small quantities, too much gives me a stomach ache!

There you have it, moving right along through the diet and feeling great!

14878592169_73fcf1eb47_m

DES Daughter

Happy Healing!

One thought on “Stage 2 SCD Reflections

Leave a Reply

