Eating Away From Home On The SCD Diet

Today I am going to talk a little about my experience of eating away from home while on the SCD diet. Since I am a teacher, I am able to prepare my meals at home in the summertime. However, I started the SCD introduction diet during the school year and needed to bring my prepared meals with me to work. If you are bringing your meals with you, there are a couple of items that make eating away from home a little more convenient.

The first item that made my life a whole lot easier is a Thermos . During the first few weeks of the diet you will be eating a lot of soup. This particular thermos kept my soup hot throughout the day. It was also large enough that I could fill with enough for two meals. That way if I got hungry after lunch, I had more to eat! The only down side is that it is a larger container and not as easy to carry with you on the go.

My next go to item is a LunchBot. This is a stainless steal container that will keep your food warm for hours. I use this for steamed veggies, or meat that is not put into a soup. This container is convenient to carry around with you because of its smaller size, and it will fit nicely inside a purse or bag. I used this when visiting the D.C. museums all morning with my hubby.  After we were finished I had a nice lunch available!

Drinking water while on the SCD diet is a must! I will not use plastic due to the harmful chemicals that can leach into food and water. I prefer to drink out of a glass or stainless steal bottle. Sometimes I will just use a big mason jar, but I always get funny looks from my kidos. I use this Ello Pure BPA-Free Glass Water Bottle while i am at school. I usually will fill it up the night before and stick it in the fridge so I have cool water to drink in the morning. I have never had an issue with it leaking and it comes in super cute colors!

My last item that I use is a Contigo -Insulated Stainless Steel Travel Mug. I love to sip on tea or bone broth at work and this particular brand keeps the liquid hot!   


There you have it, the best items for eating away from home while on the SCD diet!!

Happy Healing! 

Leave a Reply

