5 Ways To Beat The Flu This Year

No one enjoys getting the flu. Many people try to avoid it by using things like hand sanitizer or getting the flu shot. I’m here to tell you about some natural options for beating the flu this year. These solutions have worked wonders for my family and I can’t wait to share them with you!

Five Ways To Fight The Flu

1.Diffusing and Applying Thieves Essential Oil

Thieves essential oil contains clove, lemon, eucalyptus and rosemary cineol. The oils included in this blend contain antibacterial, anti-infectious, immune stimulant and anti-inflammatory properties. I love to read about all of my  essential oils using Connie and Alan Higley’s book, Reference Guide for Essential Oils Soft Cover 2013.  While reading on day, I discovered that this blend of oil defends the body from the flu, colds, strep, and many other illnesses that occur this time of the year. After finding out this information, I knew thieves would be perfect for the cold and flu season. When my husband and I feel a cold coming on we start to diffuse it at night, while we are sleeping, as well as applying the oil to the bottom of our feet. If I have a sore throat, I will also massage it into the submandibular lymph nodes (lymph nodes under your chin).  In order to protect myself from the illnesses the kids bring to school, I rub the oil onto my feet before work and use my Thieves Spray by Young Living on objects around my classroom.

2.Oregano Oil Steam

Oregano Young Living Essential Oil is another notable oil we use to prevent illness. This oil is antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral and an immune stimulant. It is a powerful oil which people have used for intestinal parasites, warts, staph infections/MRSA and even whooping cough. When I feel like I am getting a sore throat or stuffy nose, I will put  3-4 drops of oregano oil into a cup of boiling water. After, I get a blanket and put it over my head and breath in the oregano steam for 15-20 minutes. This will draw mucus out of your nose so make sure to have Kleenex with you! I almost always instantly feel better after this process.

3. Apple Cider Vinegar

Several years ago my mother in law gave me Larry Cook’s book called, The Beginner’s Guide to Natural Living. I learned all of the benefits of using apple cider vinegar for your health. One thing cook emphasizes is to use good quality apple cider vinegar. I like Bragg Apple Cider Vinegar Organic Raw — 32 fl oz brand because it is raw and contains living enzymes. I use apple cider vinegar all the time! From conditioning my hair to soothing sore muscles, this vinegar is a great all purpose solution. Apple Cider Vinegar is a natural anti-baterial which will fight off viruses. For flu prevention I drink 2 TBSP of apple Cider vinegar with warm water and lemon. I also gargle with a watered down shot of vinegar to sooth a sore throat.

4.Stop Using Hand Sanitizer

During my first year of teaching, I used hand sanitizer ALL THE TIME. It was also the year I continually got colds and the flu. In fact, now when I think about how much hand sanitizer I used, I cringe. Hand sanitizer kills the good flora in your gut. Your microbiome is what keeps you healthy and keeps the “bad bacterica” away. Dr. Mercola’s article, The Role of Microscopic Organisms Inside your Gut Flora, makes it clear how important our gut flora is when he metnions,

“Exactly what those different life forms do has been the subject of some exciting research in recent years, and while a few of these organisms can sometimes wreak havoc with your system, the majority of these little “bugs” are good, helping you digest your food, stay protected from infections, and even keeping your immune system properly regulated to fend off autoimmune diseases like asthma, allergies, and diabetes.” Source

I now opt for regular soap and hot water to keep germs away. My favorite soap to use is EssentialOilsLife – Thieves Foaming Hand Soap!

5. Detox Bath

I first heard of a detox bath from my massage therapist. At first, I wasn’t sure if I believe that this bath was all it was cracked up to be until I tried it myself. I found that this bath rids you of the toxins that are making you sick! You will need:

1/2 cup magnesium flakes

¼ cup sea salt

1/4 cup baking soda

2 TBSP ground ginger

Fill the tub with HOT water (as hot as you can stand) and put in ingredients from above, relax for 15-20 minutes. During this time you may notice perspiration, which is detoxifying process happening in your body. After you get out and towel off and rest for 30 minutes laying down. You will want to be still during this time so don’t try to read, or get on your IPAD :).

What do you do to prevent your family from getting sick during the flu season?  

2 thoughts on “5 Ways To Beat The Flu This Year

  1. So, I had a very painful sore throat hit me yesterday and was looking for something more natural to use to help it since I am pregnant. Lucky fir me this post came out. I gargled with the brags cider vinegar and seriously the pain was reduced by 90% and I didn’t have to take any commercial medicine!

Leave a Reply

