Fermented Veggie Recipe

There are so many benefits to eating fermented food, especially if you want to heal your gut. However, the benefits of fermented food is a post I am going to save for another day. Today I want to show you a basic sauerkraut recipe.  I introduced probiotic food into my diet about a year ago. At first the process of making these foods seemed scary. Do I really want to eat something that has been sitting on my counter for a week?!?! I have to admit, taking that first bite was a little intimidating. However, now that I have tried them, I will never go back to not eating them! Not only do they taste delicious, they make my tummy feel wonderful!

fermented veggie blog post

 

Fermented Sauerkraut Recipe

  • Time: 20 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients 

1) 1 head of purple cabbage

2) 3 TBSP salt

3) 2 Lemons

4) 2 Cloves garlic

5) Crushed Peppercorns to taste

Directions

1. Pour 1 quart of filtered water into glass. I use The Pampered Chef Classic Batter Bowl

2. Add 2.5 TBSP of salt to the glass bowl and mix periodically with a wooden spoon. You want all of the salt to dissolve into the water.

3.Chop purple cabbage in small pieces. I use The Pampered Chef Cutting Edge Food Chopper

4. Put pieces of small cabbage into glass mason jars (make sure the jars are sterile by cleaning them with boiling water). You may use more than one mason jar depending on the size, I used one large and 2 small for this recipe)

5. Add 2 TBSP lemon juice, 1/2 clove garlic and crushed peppercorns to each jar of cabbage

6. Add saltwater to jars and pour until cabbage is completely covered. If cabbage floats to the top of the jar you  can push it back down with spoon (you may have to do this several times over the course of the fermentation process.

7. Place lids on mason jars and leave the lids a little loose so that air can get in.

8. Place in a warm spot (I keep mine on top of my oven) for 5-7 days. As the fermentation process takes place you may see bubbles and the water may spill out a bit. I always place my jars on top of cloth towels.

After day 5 or 6 you can taste the veggies, they should have a sour/tangy flavor. The veggies should not contain mold, or have a moldy smell/flavor (believe me you would know if they went rotten by the smell). You can then transfer them to the refrigerator. You can keep the kraut for 4-8 months in an air tight jar in the refrigerator.

2 thoughts on “Fermented Veggie Recipe

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Running Into A New Chapter

Leave a Reply

