Easy Crock Pot Chicken + Bone Broth

Bone broth has become a staple in my meals since starting the GAPS diet. At first I was turned off to the idea of eating something that came from a bone ( I was vegan for several years after all 🙂 ). I quickly got over that by realizing that it tasted  delicious and has amazing health benefits! However, I was still intemidated by the process of making it. I now know a method that takes less than five minute to prepare, I let my crock pot do the rest. Here is my simple Crock Pot Chicken Bone Broth Recipe below.

IMG_1361

Easy Crock Pot Chicken +Bone Broth

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

1 large chicken

2 onions

4 carrots

4 stalks of celery

2 TBSP apple cider vinegar

2 clove crushed garlic

Other Spices (add according to your taste) Pink Salt, Peppercorns, Cumin, Parsley

Recipe 

1. Place chicken in crock pot and fill with water.

2. Add 1 onion, 2 carrots, 2 stalks celery, 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar, crushed garlic, salt/herbs to pot

3. Cook on low for 8 hours.

4. Remove chicken from crock pot and pull/ store meat in a glass container. Place chicken bones in a separate container.

6. Strain vegetables from broth and discard. Pour broth into glass mason jars to store in refrigerator

7. Fill crockpot with water and add chicken bones.

8. Add 1 onion, 2 carrots, 2 stalks celery, 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar, crushed garlic, salt/herbs to pot

9. Turn crockpot on high for one hour (or until simmering) then turn to low and let cook 10-12 hours.

11. Strain vegetables and place remaining broth in glass mason jars.

I keep my broth in the fridge for one week. What I don’t use in the week I place in the freezer for later use.

I hope you enjoy this super simple recipe

One thought on “Easy Crock Pot Chicken + Bone Broth

  1. Pingback: Food Sensitivities and Leaky Gut | Running Into A New Chapter

Leave a comment