“Pain is temporary. Quitting lasts forever.”- Lance Armstrong.

Well, I did it! I ran the furthest consecutive miles than I ever have in my whole life! On saturday I did my 14 mile training run. Note that my legs were still kind of recovering from last weekends red eye relay race.  

I started the run out strong with a pace of around an 8 minute mile, and by the end was running a 10 minute mile. Although I would have liked to have a little bit of a faster pace, I couldn’t be more proud of myself. So many times during the middle of that run I wanted to stop to walk..even if it was just for a minute. However, I kept pushing myself. Telling myself NOT to stop. I was my biggest cheerleader!! 

One of my favorite blog is written by this girl.. One time she posted about what she thinks about during a run. She said that when she is tired and wants to stop she keeps thinking about this quote.. . “Pain is temporary. Quitting lasts forever.”- Lance Armstrong. 

This quote not only made me run faster during my last race, but kept me going on Saturday. As much as I wanted to stop, I knew I would eventually make it to the end and the pain I was feeling would go away. I would walk away from this run being a stronger runner. 

Just as I thought by the end of my run I was on cloud nine. I accomplished something that I wasn’t sure that I could do..

 

Then I jumped into the lake to ice my legs ;).. 

 

And because I have no pictures from this past weekend (sorry i’m a bad blogger) AND because this is also suppose to be a blog about upcoming wedding, AND because I dislike when blogs don’t have pictures…I will leave you with a incredibly random picture of my amazing fiance and I the night we got engaged. 🙂Image

 

 

What keeps you going during your workouts?

Leave a Reply

