Vegan cooking

Happy Saturday!! My day started out pretty fantastic, and involved cooking up some oatmeal and coffee.

I then did a 3-mile treadmill run and picked up a few weights! I am going to be lazy the rest of the day until I get ready for church and dinner with Aaron, and the soon to be sister-in-law!! We are trying out a new restaurant with, what looks like, some amazing vegan/gluten-free food!  This brings me to my next topic…FOOD!

Over the past year I have acquired many great vegan cookbooks (mostly from my sis, Jennifer). I use these cookbooks for desert ideas, or to get a break from the typical rice and veggie dish.

This was my very first cookbook and it is filled with a variety of different recipes that would please even the toughest vegan critic. It has a dish for every occasion and deserts to die for! Aaron is obsessed with the double chocolate chip cookie recipe. I would recommend the chocolate chip waffle recipe as well. It contains recipes that are gluten-free, soy free, and low-fat.

This book is so much fun with comfort food dishes that you would never expect to be vegan! It has every food you would expect to see in a diner with a vegan twist. My favorite is the chocolate chip banana bread! Can you tell I that I love sweets yet? 😉

Yum-o-licous!!! This book is very unique as it gives you ideas for meals based on what foods are in season! Most of the recipes are light but filling.

This book is perfect for quick meal ideas.Every recipe is quick and simple to understand. She uses ingredients that are easy to find in the normal grocery store. It is perfect for those busy weeknights.

There is something I have always loved about calendars with words of wisdom each day for an entire year. You can only imagine my joy when my sister got me this book… WORDS OF WISDOM ABOUT BEING VEGAN. Yes, I read it everyday…Yes, I may have already read all of it..  This book reminds me why I am vegan and also has some yummy food ideas.

Last but not least, this book is the reason I decided to become vegan. THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. This books goes into deep issues about factory farming and the horrors of how animals are treated. I would recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about being vegetarian or vegan. It is much easier to give up the food if you have good reasoning behind it.

I hope everyone has a great weekend! I’ll have wedding updates next week, I promise 🙂

What did you do this weekend?

What is your favorite thing to bake/cook?

Do you have a favorite cookbook?

5 thoughts on “Vegan cooking

  1. Let’s see this weekend I tried to catch up with things around the house, make some cards and chased after el! I love cookbooks, I find them to be great reads and the more pictures the better. My favorite cookbook is called the best recipe – it truely has the best recipes. My favorite things to cook are anything new! I love trying new recipes. The things I don’t like about cooking is shopping and cleanup!

  2. Happy Monday…weekend consisted of Hunger Games and babysitting. I think I would try my hand at real-life Hunger Games with no training before volunteering to babysit again. 🙂
    No favorite cookbook…I am a spur of the moment cook…but The Vegan’s Daily Companion looks interesting…I would read it not only for the healthy benefits but to help gain more insight into the vegan lifestyle. Not saying I would embrace it but I am open-minded enough to learn more.
    I love baking cakes and cookies…they help maintain the girlish figure. 🙂

  3. I checked out your blog and i really like it. I use two of the cookbooks you posted, Vegan Diner and Quick-Fix Vegan. My fav cookbook right now is Chloe’s Kitchen. Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

